Tuition fees and other deductions for students in Quebec

Students in Quebec generally have a source of income that allows them to finance their studies. Thus, they can benefit from credits and other forms of deductions. For more information, do not hesitate to call on JKB Services. This consulting agency offering accounting services in Montreal can give you the best credit advice.

The types of income that students receive

To be able to claim Tax credits and with deductions, you have to have income to deduct. Here are the different sources of income that students in Quebec can have.

  • Exemption for scholarships, the amount of which depends on the situation of each student: This income from a scholarship, a development scholarship or a research scholarship can be reduced from $ 500 to $ 1,000.
  • Part-time or full-time employment;
  • Employment insurance and other benefits;
  • Grant or scholarship, scholarship;
  • Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP);
  • Continuing Education Incentive Plan (RRSP);

What are the credits and deductions offered to Quebec students? How much can a student transfer to a parent, grandparents or even spouse?

Deduction / slip Form where to enter the information in your declaration Transfer to a parent or grandparent? Transfer to my spouse? If not transferred, can I carry forward to a subsequent year?
Federal Eligible tuition fees (T2202, box A)

Textbook amount (incl. On T2202)

Mountain. unused from previous years (notice of assessment / federal reassessment)

Moving expenses

Annexe 11

Annexe 11

Annexe 11

T1-M/TP-348

Yes

Yes

No

No

Yes

Yes

No

In some cases

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Quebec Amount for post-secondary studies (RL-8, box A)

Tuition or examination fees (RL-8, box B)

Textbook amount

Mountain. unused from previous years (notice of assessment / prov. reassessment)

Interest paid on bank loan (bank statement)

Annexe S

Annexe T

S.O.

Annexe T

Line 385

Yes, but only to the parent.

Yes

S.O.

No

No

No

 

No

S.O.

No

No

No

 

Yes

S.O.

Yes

No

 

Other deductions to be expected

Note that apart from the deductions mentioned above, there are other forms of deduction that students in Quebec should know:

Moving expenses: These expenses can be deducted in certain circumstances and for this, you must use the T1-M form for the federal return and the TP-348 form in the Quebec return.

Child care costs are also among the deductions to be expected. In fact, students can claim a deduction if they require child care services to attend studies in an eligible program. For those who have children in a private daycare, they can deduct the daycare expenses in both returns. In the case of a government-subsidized daycare, parents can claim the costs only in the Quebec declaration. The amount paid is clearly indicated in the RL-24 slip given to them.

The transit pass can also be deducted from the federal return.

For those who have already started paying off their student loans, they can deduct the interest paid on both of their returns.

What you need to know about tuition tax credits

Expenses related to post-secondary education are known to be heavy burdens for many students and their families. For this reason, those who study in Canada can claim various credits dedicated to students. With these credits, they can offset their expenses related to the purchase of textbooks or the payment of various study fees. Note that tuition fees are the most important expenses for students and that the existence of these credits allows them to meet them.

How to benefit from the credit for tuition fees?

All students over the age of 16 enrolled in post-secondary courses at an approved institution are eligible for the Canada tax credit. In general, students who continue their education in high school and then university are eligible for this credit. Educational institutions located outside Canada are eligible if the period of full-time study spent abroad is at least three weeks. In the event that the student has a source of income and his employer reimburses his tuition fees, he cannot take advantage of the tax credit. However, he can benefit from this credit if the employer includes the amount of tuition fees in his income. Students can also take advantage of the tax credit if their employer pays the tuition fees to their father or mother, but in their name.

What effects on taxes?

The Tuition Fee Credit is a non-refundable credit designed to reduce tax payable. To find out the amount of this credit, simply add up all the tuition fees and then multiply them by the lowest federal tax rate for the current tax year. Note that the 2012 federal tax rate was around 15%. In other words, students who have paid tuition in the amount of $ 2,000 can receive a tax credit of $ 300. As this is a non-refundable credit, the tax credit reduces the tax payable by the student to zero and generates no refund. In the event of unused credits, they can be carried over to another year or transferred in other cases.

The documents to be provided to claim the tuition credit

You should know that colleges, universities or other accredited institutions issue T2202A forms as certification. These documents confirm that a student has actually taken qualifying courses for an agreed period of time for the tuition credit grant.

Also note that a disabled student can claim full-time amounts even if they are only enrolled part-time, subject to presentation of a letter certified by a licensed physician.

Do not hesitate to call on Montreal tax services from JKB Services if you want to respect a professional approach to the tax declaration.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top
en_USEnglish

JKB Blogue

Frais de scolarité et autres déductions pour étudiants au Québec

Les étudiants au Québec ont généralement une source de revenus qui leur permettent de financer leurs études. Ainsi, ils peuvent bénéficier de crédits et d’autres formes de déductions. Pour avoir de plus amples informations, n’hésitez pas à faire appel à JKB Services. Cette agence de consultation offrant des services de comptabilité à Montreal peut vous donner les meilleurs conseils en matière de crédit.

Les types de revenus que les étudiants perçoivent

Pour pouvoir prétendre aux crédits d’impôts et aux déductions, il faut avoir un revenu à déduire. Voici les différentes sources de revenu que les étudiants aux Québec peuvent avoir.

  • Exemption pour bourses d’études dont le montant dépend de la situation de chaque étudiant : Ce revenu issu d’une bourse d’études, une bourse de perfectionnement ou encore une bourse de recherche peut être réduit de 500 $ à 1000 $.
  • Emploi à temps partiel ou à plein temps ;
  • Prestations d’assurance-emploi et autres prestations ;
  • Subvention ou bourse, bourse d’études ;
  • Régime enregistré d’épargnes- études (REEE) ;
  • Régime d’encouragement à l’éducation permanente ( REER) ;

Quels sont les crédits et les déductions offertes aux étudiants du Québec? Quels sont les montants qu’un étudiant peut transférer à un parent, à ses grands-parents ou encore à son conjoint?

Déduction/feuillet Formulaire où entrer les infos dans votre déclaration Transférer à un parent ou grand parent? Transférer à mon conjoint? Si non transféré, puis-je reporter à une année suivante?
Fédéral Frais de scolarité admissibles (T2202, case A)

Montant pour manuels (incl. sur T2202)

Mont. inutilisé d’années précédentes (avis de cotisation/nouvelle cotisation fédérale)

Frais de déménagement

Annexe 11

Annexe 11

Annexe 11

T1-M/TP-348

Oui

Oui

Non

Non

Oui

Oui

Non

Dans certains cas

Oui

Oui

Oui

Oui

Québec Montant pour études postsecondaires (RL-8, case A)

Frais de scolarité ou d’examen (RL-8, case B)

Montant pour manuels

Mont. inutilisé d’années précédentes (avis de cotisation/nouvelle cotisation prov.)

Intérêts payés sur prêt bancaire (état bancaire)

Annexe S

Annexe T

S.O.

Annexe T

Ligne 385

Oui, mais seulement au parent.

Oui

S.O.

Non

Non

Non

 

Non

S.O.

Non

Non

Non

 

Oui

S.O.

Oui

Non

 

Les autres déductions à prévoir

Notez qu’en dehors des déductions citées plus haut, il existe d’autres formes de déduction que les étudiants au Québec doivent savoir :

Les frais de déménagement : Ces frais peuvent être déduits dans certaines circonstances et pour cela, il faut utiliser le formulaire T1-M pour la déclaration fédéral et le formulaire TP-348 dans la déclaration du Québec.

Les frais de garde figurent également parmi les déductions à prévoir. En effet, les étudiants peuvent demander une déduction s’ils ont besoin de services de garde pour être présents aux études dans un programme admissible. Pour ceux qui ont des enfants dans une garderie privée, ils peuvent déduire les frais de garde dans les deux déclarations. Dans le cas d’une garderie subventionnée par le gouvernement, les parents peuvent réclamer les frais uniquement dans la déclaration du Québec. Le montant payé est indiqué clairement dans le relevé 24 qui leur est remis.

Le laissez-passer de transport en commun peut également être déduit de la déclaration fédérale.

Pour ceux qui ont déjà commencé à rembourser leurs prêts étudiants, ils peuvent déduire l’intérêt payé dans leurs deux déclarations.

Ce qu’il faut savoir sur les crédits d’impôt pour frais de scolarité

Il est connu que les dépenses liées à l’éducation postsecondaire constituent des charges lourdes pour de nombreux étudiants et pour leur famille. Pour cette raison, ceux qui suivent leurs études au Canada peuvent prétendre à différents crédits dédiés aux étudiants. Grâce à ces crédits, ils peuvent compenser leurs dépenses liées à l’achat de manuels ou encore au paiement des différents frais d’études. À noter que les frais de scolarité constituent les dépenses les plus importantes pour les étudiants et que l’existence de ces crédits leur permet d’y faire face.

Comment bénéficier le crédit pour frais de scolarité ?

Tous les étudiants âgés de plus de 16 ans et inscrits à des cours de niveau postsecondaires dans un établissement agréé peuvent prétendre au crédit d’impôt au Canada. En général, les étudiants qui poursuivent leurs études au lycée puis à l’université sont admissibles à ce crédit. Les établissements d’enseignement implantés en dehors du Canada sont admissibles si la période aux études à temps plein passé à l’étranger est de trois semaines minimum. Au cas où l’étudiant aurait une source de revenus et que son employeur rembourse ses frais de scolarité, il ne peut pas profiter du crédit d’impôt. En revanche, il peut en bénéficier de ce crédit si l’employeur inclut le montant de frais de scolarité dans ses revenus. L’étudiant peut également profiter du crédit d’impôt si son employeur paie les frais de scolarité à son père ou à sa mère, mais à son nom.

Quels effets sur les impôts ?

Le crédit pour frais de scolarité est un crédit non remboursable dont l’objectif est de réduire l’impôt à payer. Pour connaître le montant de ce crédit, il suffit d’additionner tous les frais de scolarité puis les multipliés par le taux d’imposition fédéral le plus bas pour l’année d’imposition courante. À noter que le taux d’imposition fédéral de 2012 était de l’ordre de 15 %. En d’autres termes, les étudiants qui ont payé des frais de scolarité d’un montant de 2000 $ peuvent bénéficier d’un crédit d’impôt de 300 $. Comme il s’agit d’un crédit non remboursable, le crédit d’impôt réduit à zéro l’impôt à payer par l’étudiant et n’engendre aucun remboursement. En cas de crédits inutilisés, ils peuvent être reportés à une autre année ou transférés dans d’autres cas.

Les documents à fournir pour prétendre au crédit pour frais de scolarité

Il faut savoir que les collèges, les universités ou encore les autres établissements accrédités émettent des formulaires T2202A en guise de certification. Ces documents confirment qu’un étudiant a réellement suivi des cours admissibles pendant une durée acceptée dans le cadre de l’octroi du crédit pour frais de scolarité.

À noter également qu’un étudiant handicapé peut réclamer des montants à temps plein même s’ils ne sont inscrits qu’à temps partiel sous réserve de la présentation d’une lettre certifiée par un médecin agréé.

N’hésitez pas à faire appel aux services d’impôt à Montreal de JKB Services si vous voulez respecter une démarche professionnelle pour la déclaration d’impôt.

 

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Top