Quebec Taxes | Quebec taxes

If you have established your business in Quebec, know that you must register for various Came back to Quebec and fulfill your tax obligations relating to taxes. Note that depending on the type of professional activity you carry out, the taxes applied will not be the same as those paid by other professionals. JKB Services, this consulting agency working in the offer of accounting services, can provide you with all the information you need to know on the subject.

GST / HST and QST

If you sell or provide goods and services, you must pay the goods and services tax (GST) as well as the Quebec sales tax (QST). In some provinces, both taxes are being replaced by the Harmonized Sales Tax (HST).

To find out if you need to register your business in the files of the GST and QST, you must consult the ground rules. Thus, you will have all the details you need, particularly on application taxes depending on the type of sale. The rules also give you details of your obligations regarding the application of taxes.

Note that after registering your business for the GST and QST, you can collect taxes from your customers. You can also calculate your input tax credits and refunds. Also, don't forget to report the GST and QST for each reporting period.

Tobacco tax

If your business operates in the tobacco industry in Quebec, you must be exempt from tobacco tax. The obligations you have towards the government of Quebec vary according to your activities.

Note that as a tobacco seller you have responsibilities as a seller. If you do not remit the tobacco tax by the time specified in the payment schedule, you risk paying penalties. There are also what are known as non-filing penalties, but they only apply to people who fail to file their return.

For those who violate the tobacco tax law, fines, penalties and even jail time are applied.

Fuel taxes

For those who carry out activities related to the fuel industry in Quebec, they must pay the fuel tax. Their obligations depend on their business activities.

Those who buy fuel to power a locomotive engine must declare this tax to Revenu Québec and pay it.

For those who sell fuel, they have a responsibility as sellers of fuel. In the case of retail sale on an Indian reserve or establishment, customers may qualify for tax exemption.

Those who have paid fuel tax may be eligible for a refund under certain circumstances.

In the event of late declaration or remittance of the tax, penalties and interest await those concerned. In case of non-compliance with the law on fuel tax, prison sentences can be applied.

Tax on alcoholic beverages

For those who have a business whose activities are related to the alcoholic beverage industry, they must pay specific taxes on alcoholic beverages. They must also pay the GST and the QST. Of course, all of these obligations depend on the activities.

Accommodation tax

If you operate an accommodation establishment, you must pay the tax on lodging. To do this, there is a procedure to follow which is summarized as follows:

  • Registration for the tax on lodging;
  • Calculation and collection of the tax on lodging;
  • Accommodation tax rebate received.

Duty on new tires

If your activities consist of renting or selling new tires or road vehicles equipped with affected new tires, you must pay a duty. To do this, here are the steps to follow:

  • Registration for the QST;
  • Collection of specific duty on new tires;
  • Filing of declarations and remission of the specific duty on new tires.

Insurance premium tax

If you benefit from taxable insurance premiums in the course of your professional activities, you must meet your obligations relating to the tax on insurance premiums. Three steps must be observed, namely:

  • Your registration for the tax on insurance premiums;
  • The collection of tax on insurance premiums;
  • The production of a return followed by a remission of the tax on insurance premiums.

Pari-mutuel tax

If during a racing program held in Quebec or elsewhere, you receive stakes via a pari-mutuel system, you must collect a tax on the pari-mutuel. This tax is 2.5% and is calculated according to the amount of the stake. It must be submitted with the Declaration of Stakes Received During a Race Program (VD-539.A).

For payment, you have two options. Either you pay it in person at the counter of a financial institution, evening by mail.

In the event that your check has been refused by the financial institution because of insufficient funds, you are required to pay administrative fees. These are added to your debt and are considered from the date of denial.

Municipal tax for 9-1-1

If your professional activities relate to the provision of telephone services in the territory of Quebec municipalities, you are required to collect and then remit the municipal tax for 9-1-1 to Revenu Quebec. For this, you must respect the following steps:

  • Registration in the municipal tax file for 9-1-1;
  • Collection of municipal tax for 9-1-1 from all subscribers of your telephone service;
  • Filing of returns and remittance of the municipal tax for 9-1-1.

For more information on Quebec taxes and Quebec taxes, do not hesitate to contact the accounting and tax services in Montreal from JKB Services if you want to respect a professional approach to the tax declaration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top
en_USEnglish

JKB Blogue

Taxes Québec | Impôts Québec

Si vous avez implanté votre entreprise au Québec, sachez que vous devez vous inscrire à différents fichiers de Revenu Québec et remplir vos obligations fiscales se rapportant aux taxes. Notez que selon le type d’activités professionnelles que vous exercez, les taxes appliquées ne seront pas les même que celles payées par d’autres professionnels. JKB Services, cette agence de consultation œuvrant dans l’offre de services de comptabilité, peut vous apporter toutes les informations à connaître sur le sujet.

TPS/TVH et TVQ

Si vous vendez ou fournissez des biens et des services, vous devez payés la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) ainsi que la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ). Dans certaines provinces, des deux taxes sont remplacées par la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH).

Pour savoir si vous devez inscrire votre entreprise aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ, vous devez consulter les règles de base. Ainsi, vous aurez toutes les précisions dont vous avez besoin notamment sur les taxes applications selon les types de vente. Les règles vous donnent également les détails sur vos obligations relatives à l’application des taxes.

Notez qu’après avoir inscrit votre entreprise aux fichiers de la TPS et de la TVQ, vous pouvez percevoir les taxes auprès de vos clients. Vous pouvez également procéder au calcul de vos crédits et de vos remboursements de taxe sur les intrants. N’oubliez pas non plus de faire la déclaration de TPS et de TVQ pour chaque période de déclaration.

Impôt sur le tabac

Si votre entreprise œuvre dans l’industrie du tabac au Québec, vous devez vous affranchir de l’impôt sur le tabac. Les obligations que vous avez envers le gouvernement du Québec varient selon vos activités.

Notez qu’en tant que vendeur de tabac, vous avez des responsabilités en tant que vendeur. Au cas om vous ne remettez pas l’impôt sur le tabac dans le délai précisé dans le calendrier de paiement, vous vous exposez au paiement de pénalités. Il existe également ce qu’on appelle les pénalités de non-production, mais elles ne s’appliquent qu’aux personnes qui ne produisent pas leur déclaration.

Pour ceux qui ne respectent pas la loi relative à l’impôt sur le tabac, des amendes, des pénalités et même des peines d’emprisonnements sont appliquées.

Taxes sur les carburants

Pour ceux qui exercent des activités liées à l’industrie du carburant au Québec, ils doivent s’acquitter de la taxe sur les carburants. Leurs obligations sont fonction de leurs activités commerciales.

Ceux qui achètent du carburant pour alimenter un moteur de locomotive doivent déclarer cette taxe à Revenu Québec et la payer.

Pour ceux qui vendent du carburant, ils ont une responsabilité en tant que vendeurs de carburant. Dans le cas d’une vente au détail dans une réserve ou un établissement indien, les clients peuvent bénéficier de l’exemption fiscale.

Ceux qui ont payé la taxe sur les carburants peuvent bénéficier d’un remboursement dans certaines circonstances.

En cas de retard de déclaration ou de remise de la taxe, des pénalités et des intérêts attendent les concernés. En cas de non-respect de la loi relative à la taxe sur les carburants, des peines d’emprisonnement peuvent être appliquées.

Taxe sur les boissons alcooliques

Pour ceux qui ont une entreprise dont les activités sont liées à l’industrie des boissons alcooliques, ils doivent payer des taxes spécifiques sur les boissons alcooliques. Ils doivent également s’acquitter de la TPS et de la TVQ. Bien entendu, toutes ces obligations dépendent des activités.

Taxe sur l’hébergement

Si vous exploitez un établissement d’hébergement, vous devez payer la taxe sur l’hébergement. Pour ce faire, il a y une procédure à suivre qui se résume comme suit :

  • Inscription au fichier de la taxe sur l’hébergement ;
  • Calcul et perception de la taxe sur l’hébergement ;
  • Remise de la taxe sur l’hébergement reçue.

Droit sur les pneus neufs

Si vous activités consistent à louer ou à vendre des pneus neufs ou de véhicules routiers dotés de pneus neufs visés, vous devez payer un droit. Pour cela, voici les étapes à suivre :

  • Inscription au fichier de la TVQ ;
  • Perception du droit spécifique sur les pneus neufs ;
  • Production des déclarations et remise du droit spécifique sur les pneus neufs.

Taxe sur les primes d’assurance

Si vous bénéficiez de primes d’assurance taxable dans le cadre de vos activités professionnelles, vous devez remplir vos obligations relatives à la taxe sur les primes d’assurance. Trois étapes sont à respecter à savoir :

  • Votre inscription au fichier de la taxe sur les primes d’assurance ;
  • La perception de la taxe sur les primes d’assurance ;
  • La production d’une déclaration suivie d’une remise de la taxe sur les primes d’assurance.

Taxe sur le pari mutuel

Si lors d’un programme de courses tenu au Québec ou ailleurs, vous recevez des enjeux via un système de pari  mutuel, vous devez percevoir une taxe sur le pari mutuel. Cette taxe est de 2,5% et est calculée en fonction du montant des enjeux. Elle doit être remise avec la Déclaration des enjeux reçus pendant un programme de courses (VD-539.A).

Pour le paiement, deux options s’offrent vous. Soit vous le payez en personne au comptoir d’une institution financière, soir par la poste.

Dans le cas où votre chèque a été refusé par l’établissement financier à cause d’une provision insuffisante, vous êtes dans l’obligation de vous acquitter de frais administratifs. Ces derniers s’ajoutent à votre dette et sont considérés à partir de la date de refus.

La taxe municipale pour 9-1-1

Dans le cas où vos activités professionnelles se rapportent à la fourniture de services téléphoniques sur le territoire des municipalités du Québec, vous êtes dans l’obligation de percevoir puis de remettre la taxe municipale pour 9-1-1 à Revenu Québec. Pour cela, vous devez respecter les étapes suivantes :

  • Inscription au fichier de la taxe municipale pour le 9-1-1 ;
  • Perception de la taxe municipale pour le 9-1-1 de tous les abonnés de votre service téléphonique ;
  • Production des déclarations et remise de la taxe municipale pour le 9-1-1.

Pour avoir de plus amples informations sur les taxes Québec et les impôts Québec, n’hésitez pas à faire appel aux services de comptabilité et impôt à Montreal de JKB Services si vous voulez respecter une démarche professionnelle pour la déclaration d’impôt.

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Top